I guess it comes with the price of being a knock-off

me

You don’t love me

You don’t love me anymore than the lies you feel you have to tell

Well,

Maybe you do love them

Because every time I find myself trying to be the bigger man

If it shines you in a bad light, then telling the truth is something you can’t stand

We saw your “ex” last night

Ironic the contrast of relationships

Between one getting engaged and the other growing further apart

My heart bleeds

Even when I’ve mended myself, stitching my heart together with the spines of each past dysfunction –some of which you were there to see

And from that stitching comes a better me

All with the hopes that we will live happily

But you are bursting at the seams

Staving off each truth for as long as you have to

I don’t cry, but do you realize how much it hurts inside

To try

And see you struggle for your alibi

Until you realize, I already knew

I will never be Muslim enough for you

I will never be the race you want me to be

To make up for whatever void you are seeking to fill

When you have in mind a certain girl

I will never be born the way she is born

I was only born me

It’s funny

Cause you’re the only relationship that’s fostered that type of insecurity

Leave a Reply

