Mommy Dearest…Modern Day Joan Crawford

Image

(source)

My mother is my daughter

I have friends who are willing to do more for me than you

My mom talks about me like I’m her archenemy in high school

Jealousy because I didn’t play into being life’s fool

Gossiping to my sisters trying to get inside their minds

Having you raise me throughout life was like the blind leading the blind

I learned life lessons from the streets

More than anything you ever teach

You see me in disbelief

Like, “I can’t believe this bitch is about to get her degree”

You don’t like the thought of me being free

Visions

Me turning 18 and making the decision to be happy

You can no longer suppress me

So you throw stumbling blocks in my way, trying to test me

My sister rushing to take her off speakerphone

She knows what you say about me hurts

Enemies remain in dark corners, but there my mother lurks

Waiting, praying, playing…

Head games

Calling me selfish and greedy

Just because I don’t like to live to my last dollar

You put me through that already

Because I like some sense of security

So I can back myself up when I’m ready

After all, I never had anyone else to

Especially not you

 Complaining because my sister thought it was polite to bring me something back

You go through bottles of my wine, but I bet you don’t recall that

No one asked for your assistance

Yet you complain like it’s solicited

These were reasons why I rarely visited

A horrible past I must now reminisce

Leave a Reply

