The Day (part I)

So I’m trying to keep this site consistent- but I’ve GOT to blog about this. I’ve had a dentist phobia for as long as I could remember. The one time that stands out is when I was in kindergarden and they put me to sleep for my filling because I had a history of screaming and kicking, but I woke up from the anesthesia to find myself in a straight jacket and it was all hell from there.

Fast-forward to about 20 years later (time flies!) and here I am waking up on the day that I’m going to get all four of my wisdom teeth pulled. How tf did I get to this point?!

I’ve put it off for as long as I can, but I need to get it done. It’s messing up my smile, it hurts and most importantly: I can’t enjoy eating. Given that going through with this I won’t enjoy eating for a while still, but oh well I’m finally facing the music. It’s the scary kind you hear in the Jason movies too!

Last night was my last supper. Or breakfast should I say, and it was mainly a vegetarian one at that (minus that one shrimp I tried and repulsed at). I stocked up on food seeing as I won’t be able to eat from midnight on- too bad I got full fast. I had a spinach and artichoke soufflé, a mediterranean egg-white sammy and a carrot cake. For dinner I got treated to Cajun “Shrimp” Alfredo Pasta- from which I only ate one shrimp and it tasted like pure sea salt- and a bite of noodles, because the artichoke dip had filled me. So much for stuffing. I did indulge on the Cabernet and then some more Merlot when I got home.

The whole weekend I’ve been having tinglies in my tummy and I’ve tried to subside them with meditation, but even this morning I couldn’t knock it- I spaced out my whole meditation (I know that’s kind of what you’re supposed to do but it’s not the same)

I woke at 5 a.m. rinsed with Perioguard (prescribed mouthwash) and then faced the beginning of the scares of all scares: swallowing my 6 pills (promethazine, ibuprofen and four amoxicillin), but get this- I have a pill phobia as well. Long story short I surprisingly fared better than before and after deep breathing, softening up the pills and 20 minutes, they were in my system. I won’t even go into detail about how I’ve reacted to pills before. I know I sound like Chuckie Finster from the Rugrats, but I SWEAR I’m not a total scaredy-poo there’s three, no four (my fav #), phobias for me: 1) dentist 2) pills 3) bees 4) heights. I won’t go into my bee incidents either. LOL.

So here I am sitting here in my onesie blogging to pass the time by. We’ll see how this goes (or doesn’t go)…

 

© 2012, AMBER MCKINNEY. Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license,

(Which means you can share and repost this as long as you attribute it to muah! ;D)

Leave a Reply

