Far From the Truth

An anchor, weighs my heart to the ground

Hoping to tie down a love that was never mine

Each of the sorrows you brought me are embedded in my spine

Which is probably why I haven’t been able to stand tall

You bent my self-esteem over, like you did me so many times-

So eager to fuck it

Never trust a liar, I thought nothing of it

-till I stumbled upon the truth

I found myself a little closer to happiness and further away from you

My only question is: why – it’s rhetorical

Never make a lover out of someone with no morals

You ate your best friend and her friend and when it comes to stooping low

My ex-lover you don’t have to bend

You turn full-on lesbians back to men because between you and them, there’s no difference

Sitting right next to you feels like long distance, but you never cared enough to make the call

You backed me up into a wall so if I moved, I would only be met by you

You selfish backstabbing parody of truth

You threw my heart away as if it was something you couldn’t use

But you need a little tough love

And I’m not talking about a push or tug

You need help

I have nothing left to do but to write all that I’ve felt:

You told me it looks bad on you when I move on too fast,

Yet you fucked the girl from my high school while you told me you were just best friend

She didn’t want you in the end- so it was back to me

You said we shouldn’t talk to ex’s

So you called yours up and sext through text messages- I thought that stuff was for teens

You told me you didn’t believe in cheating- but every time you try to express how much you love me you tell me when I’m married with kids you’ll still try to stray me, so when I reached out to *another you had no right to blame me

You don’t like bisexual girls, you said that to bring me down after I left my male ex- yet all of your relationships involved you and a married woman with kids

You. You. You…I can go on about how you make no sense

And I’ve already been done with trying to understand it

I think I’ll just sum it up:

You Are a Walking Contradiction

*name change

© 2012, AMBER MCKINNEY. Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license,

(Which means you can share and repost this as long as you attribute it to muah! ;D)

Source

2 thoughts on “Far From the Truth

  1. justjabari says:

    This is CRAZY powerful and heartfelt. I hope you sent this on to the person that inspired this because whoever it is definitely needs to read it. The way you throw rhymes and patterns together is SO awesome. Some of them are staggered and drop mid sentence which is genius.

    –> “You turn full-on lesbians back to men because between you and them, there’s no difference
    Sitting right next to you feels like long distance, but you never cared enough to make the call”

    –> “My only question is: why – it’s rhetorical
    Never make a lover out of someone with no morals”

    Keep writing with this passion and your poems will continue to be amazing because your delivery is very very clever..i mean that

Leave a Reply

